All Topics / Help Needed! / neighbour encroaching on land

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Profile photo of pasandbecpasandbec
    @pasandbec

Hey everyone,

Has anyone personally experienced this or know someone that has?

We are buying a property but on the boundary diagram (our solicitor gave us) it shows that a fence was built, by the neighbours, that encroaches on the land we are buying! Their house (about 2 metres of it) overflows onto the (our) land!!!

Are they idiots!? Or could they have possibly had permission from the local council to do this? Because we have a diagram that shows that this fence was built, and if that diagram came from the council, then how come they haven’t done anything about it?

Any help would really be appreciated.

pasandbec

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

I’m no expert at this but I think I read somewhere that if they have been in posession of the land for more than 15 years, you cannot do anything, otherwise, you could have a case to get the neighbours to compensate you for the 2m of land they are using.

Have you bought the land yet? If not I would either stay away from this one, or ask for a discount on the price as the land you are buying in reality is smaller than what it appears on paper.

Xenia

We buy properties in all conditions. Can offer Immediate Cash Settlements, No Real Estate Agents Required
    [email protected]
    phone 0412 437 582

Profile photo of pasandbecpasandbec
    @pasandbec

Hi Xenia,

Haven’t brought yet, we’re going to exchange in the next few days.

Our solicitor said that when we buy it it’s up to us to approach the neighbour about the matter and take it from there. My partner is going back there today to get some more advise from him because they have encorached on more land than we orignally thought (by the looks of it). And their house is encoraching (we originally thought it might have just been land, so easy to move a fence, but not so with a house.