All Topics / Creative Investing / Lease options in a down market

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

I have never done a lease option before, but I find the method interesting and may want to add it as a tool to use later on.

For the lease option experts out there, what happens if there is a downturn in the property market such that when it gets close to the options expiry date, the property is worth less than the strike price of the option?

For the client, this would mean that the option fee they paid and any credit they accumulated during the term of the option is insufficient as a deposit for them to purchase the house, as the bank will value it less than the purchase price and finance accordingly. The clients may not have enough money to complete the deal.

To me kicking them out after they have been commited for a period of time is not ethical. The other alternative would be to let them buy it at current market value and the investor takes a loss.[blink]

What would others do? The answer to this will determine whether this is a tool I may want to use or not!

Cheers Xenia

We buy properties in all conditions. Can offer Immediate Cash Settlements, No Real Estate Agents Required
    [email protected]
    phone 0412 437 582

Profile photo of Paul DobsonPaul Dobson
    Participant
    @pauldobson

Hi Dr X

Presuming that you are making positive cashflow from the L/O each month, why not just extended the L/O for whatever period is mutually agreeable.

I’m sure your solicitor can come up with an agreeable “extension” document for little cost.

I hope this helps.

Cheers, Paul

Paul Dobson | Vendor Finance Institute
    http://www.vendorfinanceinstitute.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

An alternative way to finance your home.

Participant
    @pauldobson

And a couple more I just thought of: