All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing while renting: Good or BAD?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 22 total)
  • Profile photo of NeedCashNowNeedCashNow
    @needcashnow

I am an extreme novice looking at purchasing my first house. I like the idea of trying to secure a positive cash flow investment property, but i dont own my own home as yet. And so i would be renting whilst owning a rental property.

Can this work, or would i be best focused on securing my own home first?

Profile photo of richteddyrichteddy
    @richteddy

Hi NCN

That was what I did (after a relationship break up) but I did have enough money to cover costs and deposit. Found it was cheaper sharing a rented unit (rent $65/week) than living in the property I had purchased (someone else was willing to pay $180/week to do that). But you would have to check out the situation with FHOG as to get the benefit you have to live in it for a period of time.

Good Luck in your journey.[thumbsup2]

D.B.

Profile photo of NeedCashNowNeedCashNow
    @needcashnow

Some extra details may help. Paying $200 p/w renting in brisbane. I earn about $45,000 a year, my wife earns about 25,000, so a combined income of $70,000 approx. Taking into account rent and expenses, we can probably set aside 300 – 350 a week max between us for an investment.

I’m worried that i wouldnt be able to afford the loan repayments if a property wasnt actively being rented. But in all honesty, i dont know for sure what monthly repayments would be like for a home loan of $240-250,000. Any ideas regarding that would be appreciated.

I’m thinking looking at purchasing a property in outlying suburbs around brisbane, or areas close to the city with good public transport.

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage
    @mobile-mortgage

Hi NCN,
    Here are the estimated loan repayments based on $250K @ 6.65%
    $1385 per month Interest only repayments