All Topics / Overseas Deals / Loans for NZ property

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of PDBoscoPDBosco
    @pdbosco

As an investor from OZ I was wondering what the situation is in relation to getting loans for NZ properties. Am I able to get a loan through my normal lender here for a property across the Tasman.
    I have read in other posts that OZinvestors are in a better position to invest than kiwis. Is this due to our interest rates being lower. If so what is the current kiwi interest rate.
    Ben
    Born in Christchurch but calling OZ home for past 25 years.

Profile photo of MMajorMMajor
    @mmajor

Ben

As far as I understand, Aussie lenders don’t lend to IPs purchased in NZ.

However, NZ lenders do lend to Aussies investors for 20% deposit and regular income. Likes of BNZ, ANZ, all lend in NZ.

MMajor

Profile photo of davecurrandavecurran
    @davecurran

Hi Ben

I am a mortgage broker here in Australia, and we are able to provide finance for New Zealand property. If I can be of help please email me on
    [email protected], or call on 0408470901

regards

Dave

Profile photo of SineadSinead
    @sinead

I attended Steve’s seminar in Auckland yesterday and he said that he and Dave have used NZ lenders for NZ properties to avoid the exchange rate risk. Because they are not NZ residents he said that the banks will only lend on 70% LVR.

Profile photo of ayenayen
    Participant
    @ayen

Hi,

NZ lenders will lend 80%LVR (I have even heard 90%LVR). But one thing I have discovered is that they will discount your Aussie income before putting it into their servicability formulas. For example if you are an Aussie earning the equivalent of NZD50k they will only count NZD40k of it when they calculate servicability. Whereas if you are a Kiwi earning NZD50k they will count the lot when calculating servicability.

There may be exceptions – I am still looking (anyone?)

Andrew

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage