All Topics / Help Needed! / FHOG in Sydney

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of stranstran
    @stran

I am a newbie to property investing but I have always been interested. This is my first post. I’d like hear some of your thoughts on what you would do in my situation.

I am entitled to FHOG and would like to purchase my first property before we get married next year when I will no longer be entitled to FHOG benefits.

My partner fully owns his IP valued at $180k. I have been advised that I can set up a loan with his property as security with both our names on the loan. The property will be in my name only. This means I will not need a deposit and not need to pay mortgage insurance whilst still entitled to FHOG. I have called State Revenue office and they confirm this is fine because we are not officially living together.

The mortgage broker has advised that we can secure a loan to $740k.

I do have other assets, about $100k in shares and managed funds that I was thinking to sell to fund the deposit. An accountant has advised I keep the money in shares since I’ve already paid entry costs to purchase them.

My current thinking is to purchase house & land in SW Sydney, live in it for required 6mths, renovate if necessary and move out to rent closer to the city & work. Since I can get stamp duty benefits my budget is under $500k. In 4-5 years we will move back out to this house in SW Sydney. I have read in other posts that I should consider setting this up as interest only loan. As property prices keep sliding I would like to consider purchasing another IP with the other $240k that the bank will loan us (after I convince my partner).

That is what I’m thinking at the moment. I am concerned that the returns on a house in SW Sydney is 3-4% only so I’m not sure if this is the wisest move. It seems safer because we know we would like to live there in the long term anyway. Am I nuts?? Do I have other options?

Thanks for reading my post!

Sue