All Topics / Help Needed! / Bought first house…..where do i go from here?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of GlennStakerGlennStaker
    @glennstaker

Hi folks
    im a newbie and have recently purchased my first house. i got it for a great price but only just scraped in having my 5% deposit.
    I have read a bit about IO loans and the like and am very keen to invest and get quite a few properties with the same aim as most of you…to not have to work a 9-5 job.

my question is….where do i go from here? Is IO a good place to start if i want to get my first IP? i have a clean slate and want to move forward in the right direction.

at the moment my aim is to build up some equity as quickly as possible to enable me to use it for investment purposes….so i am paying as much as i can off the mortgage while i have the “honeymoon rate” whilst doing some very basic reno’s…i am holding off on kitchen/bathroom reno’s for a year and then will reassess….your advice is appreciated.
    glenn

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Sounds like a good plan. Paying it down as fast as possible, while adding value will give you equity quicker. You can then use this to purchase your next one and so on.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage
    @mobile-mortgage

Hi Glenn & Welcome to the forum,
    If you intend to increase the equity in your PPR by way of reducing the loan balance, then I would suggest you look at the benefits of a 100% offset account linked to your loan,

Regarding the honeymoon rate,