All Topics / Creative Investing / The end of wrapping in Qld?????

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 42 total)
  • Profile photo of lawboylawboy
    @lawboy

I’ve been away for a while but I encountered a case as I was reading some judgments on the weekend. This may be old news for this board but have a look at case number 90 Miller v Gunter at:

http://www.courts.qld.gov.au/qjudgment/sc05_051.htm

I have never been fond of wrapping for ethical considerations and this case seems to confirm my view. Are the margins involved the same as other wrappers in this forum use? I would be interested in some feedback.

As a solicitor I am curious to see if any action is taken against the two solicitors involved (one of them a local that I unsuccessfully went for a job with years ago!!).

I always thought that wrapping was a problem with the Consumer Credit legislation but that wasn’t raised. I expect the decision will be appealed anyway so lets watch and see. Comments as to whether this will change any wrapping tactics in Qld please!

Profile photo of pelicanpelican
    @pelican

sorry, but that is not exactly wrapping…

What this guy was doing is called fraud…

proper wrapping discloses information about the deal…. this guy was simply trying to scam people…

Marking up a 90k house by 50k is just plain fraud…..

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

As much as I am not a fan of wrapping, I must agree with the Pelican boy. It is clearly fraud but I am certain there will be adverse repurcussions for wrappers especially when the media misinterprets events and blows it out of all proportion.

Robert Bou-Hamdan
    Mortgage Adviser

http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au

Investor Links

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

I agree that this is not wrapping.