All Topics / Help Needed! / Has anyone purchased a permanent caravan

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of paula_npaula_n
    @paula_n

Hi, I’m very new to all this and I feel that I have stumbled across a great cf+ve investment, however it’s a permanent caravan site in a major regional centre that has a large demand for rentals (between 35-40%) of the population rents. Has anyone had any experience regard to the capital gain growth of these type of properties? and any other insight would be great.

Profile photo of RedhavenRedhaven
    @redhaven

Hi, glad to hear you’re ready to give investing a go. I would personally avoid purchasing a permanent caravan, (and I know little so I could be wrong) simply because the land belongs to the caravan park owner, not the caravan owner, and as such the rents can appreciate, but the van itself will depreciate (and much more rapidly than a normal house) and unlike a normal house/land investment, once the van’s dead, that’s it, show is over. If a house is bulldozed you still have the land.

You are at the mercy of the landlord of the caravan park…if he decides a block of units is a better idea, then there goes your parking spot.

Also the quality of tenants often leave a lot to be desired (not always but often – I did street ministry in a couple of van parks) and as such I would find a permanent van an unappealing and probably headachey investment.

However, that’s only my 2 cents worth. Maybe others have different opinions?

Redhaven.

Redhaven

Profile photo of veronicabridgesveronicabridges
    @veronicabridges