All Topics / Help Needed! / commercial property

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of AnnaBAnnaB
    Participant
    @annab

Hi! I have recently come across a commercial property out in the country that is positively geared ie asking price 40k and returning $105 per week + outgoings. Lease is for another 2 years. I am just starting out…have never purchased real estate before and would like some advice on whether i actually have to drive out (its pretty far) to inspect this property or are there other means of being able to assess the property? (if u know what i mean?. i know this sounds silly but any advice please? [rolleyesanim]

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

hi AnnaB,
    the returns on paper sound good ~13.5%. although commercial does offer these fantastic returns, you also have to keep in mind that it is harder to rent out should a vaccancy occur after 2 years. Is it the type of property that would appeal to various retail stores (if its retail) or do many structural changes have to be made by a new tennant? does it have addequate road frontage etc. I recently had a retail commercial property that was untennanted for 4 months and that was on a busy main road corner in a city of 1.2 millon (Adelaide). so get some feel for how difficult it would be to re-let. it may be worth speaking to the current tennant in person to see how their business is going and what they think they may be doing in the future, are they happy to stay on? can do this over the phone but I always think its a good idea to visit them. I have also found it helpful to ring commercial agents in the area to get an idea of how easy it is to rent out certain properties and how long it usually takes.