All Topics / Help Needed! / Moving a house onto land for an IP

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of safeashousessafeashouses
    @safeashouses

I read a book in January 2005 (book 1), and my days have not been the same since! I now know what I want to do, but how to do it without falling on my face! (There have been so many people saying, “but property is for neg gearing, wait for CG, the market’s down, you have missed it, blah,blah,blah etc,etc).I am new to all this, so here goes. Has anyone had experience in purchasing (or getting for free!) an old house , moving it onto a well located block and renting it out? My aim would be to have, once completed, a H/L combination worth well in excess of cost and either rent it out as CF +, or sell and use funds toward starting to buy other IP. To start an empire I would have to borrow 100%, is this too risky, but what if the IP is STILL CF+?. For example, if an old fibro house is 4sale for $200,000 but only offering 5% gross rental return, and a block across the road is $50,000, how can an old house be worth $150,000?. It should be possible to get it going for approx $110,000, but I have more research to do yet to find out the hassles(ie getting council approval which may take 3-4 (6?) months, and how I could carry the project until then.When I read the book I went to find CF+ properties and got discouraged. I think I’m learning that they have tobe made/found, not bought as CF+.

TFRYAN

Profile photo of jparsonsjparsons
    @jparsons

True, you sometimes have to create +ve CF properties, or, find them, which you can, but you will have to search.

Approvals are an issue yes, also, have you actually had a look at what the cost of moving a house is. Getting it lifted, transported and set again?