All Topics / Help Needed! / Repairs prior to settlement

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of CandyCandy
    Participant
    @candy

Hello
    I’m a newbie to property investing (finally crossing that line from analysis paralysis to taking action!) and would love some opinions on repairs prior to settlement and whether this happens!

I have just bought a place in WA (i’m in sydney) and the building inspection report has come back with a bad leak in the ensuite into the walk in robe on the other side of the wall.

I want the vendor to fix this prior to settlement but what are my chances of this happening? How does one start negotiating the repairs prior to settlment? Or is this something that goes with part of a good deal?

I would try and fix in myself (or get my handy daddy) if it was closer to home.

Any advice/feedback/opinions are much appreciated

Candy

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Candy,

Speak to your solicitor ASAP.

I would suggest you get a quote for repair and have your solicitor put it to the vendor to reduce the asking price by that amount.

This will probably start off some negotiations and hopefully you will get to a place where you are happy to proceed.

Of course this only works if you have the appropriate clauses in place.

All the best,

Simon Macks
    Finance Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of CandyCandy
    Participant
    @candy

Hi Simon
    Thanks for the quick feedback

Having ‘appropriate clauses in place’..when i signed the contract of sale, it had a subject to building inspection…is this the clause you are referring to?

Candy

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Yes mate

Simon Macks
    Finance Broker