All Topics / Help Needed! / Have plently of cash, how to get started?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of steve2steve2
    @steve2

I’ve been working hard for the last 20 years and have managed to save $800,000 which I have in cash deposit.

Im sick of my job and have left and would like to concentrate full time on property investment/development which I have no experience of yet.

I am open to investing in any markets eg. Eastern Europe, New Zealand, as well as Australia.

What is the best strategy for me to start building an PI portfolio?

What are the best books to read for someone in my situation?

Can you recommend any PI advisors for me?

Thanks in advance

Profile photo of aptamaptam
    Participant
    @aptam

Hi Steve,

I suppose the first thing is to congratulate you on your savings. Well done on being so diligent.

The next thing is that $800k in cash sitting idle is never good.

How old are you ? When are you looking to retire? How is your super? Do you have any other assets, have you ever bought property ?

If you have never bought property, maybe the best thing to do is to start small and gradually expand your circle of competence.

Also, think about joint venture arrangements and being the “money” partner. This may also be a good way of leveraging someone else’s experience.

Cheers,
    Andrew.[cap]

Profile photo of shaztazshaztaz
    @shaztaz

Hi Steve2,
    Here’s the book review thread that might interest you…
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forum/topic/6845.html

The teacher arrives when the student is ready[biggrin]
    Regards,

Sharon

Profile photo of Don NicolussiDon Nicolussi
    Participant
    @don

Hi,

Well done on your savings. I don’t think I will give any advice about what to do with the whole sum. I have a question though. Where in Eastern Europe have you been thinking about.