All Topics / Help Needed! / First Timer Needing Advice

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of meganalexmeganalex
    @meganalex

Well here goes – Hello all, I need lots of advice.
    I am very new to all this so please excuse any ignorance I display.
    I have come across a property that on the surface appears (or has potential)to be a great +cf ip. I have found an investing partner as I am unable to finace it all myself. The property is in a fantastic location – it is run as a B&B and there is a real lack of accomodation in this area. Some of my questions that I require a bit of assistance with are:
    1. Is it classed as a commercial property
    2. Is it best to go through a broker for a loan, if so what are approx costs,
    3. What type of loan should I look at IO, I&P or what about the interest free ( sounds too good to be true) and
    4. what is a low doc loan
    5. Are there any licencing fees associated with B&Bs, if so what are they.
    I think that is all for now, any assistance will be greatly appreciated, oh and the property is in NSW.

Cheers Megan[blush2]

Profile photo of MortgagemanMortgageman
    Participant
    @mortgageman

Hi Megan

Just to answer a few of your questions:

1) The property will be classed as commercial unless you live in it, in which case you will be able to get an owner-occupied loan.

2) Most brokers won’t charge you for the work they provide as they are paid commissions by the lenders. A good broker will save you lots of time and hassle and may be able to find you a better deal than you can find yourself, but then again I am biased ;-).