All Topics / General Property / What do you think???

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of nemonemo
    @nemo

Found a commercial property in regional Australia selling for $50000 and renting for $75/week on a new 5 x5 year lease. It is tempting because I could pay it off fast and the property value won’t eat into our budget. The real estate agent was suprised at the amount it is rented and thought that it should at least rent for $120/week ( don’t know if he is having us on or not)but the new lease wass only just signed so no hope for this in the near future. I was thinking of buying sight unseen because I know the area and because of time constraints.
    Any opinions on if I should go ahead or am I mad??
    Sharon

Profile photo of nemonemo
    @nemo

I should add that it is located in a town with about 10000 people

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Sharon,

I am not a commercial property investor so please take what I say with a grain of salt.

Being commercial the lender will require a larger than 20% deposit on this property and will have similar limitations when/if you try to release equity at a later stage.

This issue is a limiting factor that you will need to consider in your deliberations.

As I understand it commercial leases usually include clauses about increases in rents so the capacity to ratchet up the rent from $75-$120 may be one of those pie in the sky dreams. The existing lease agreement will explain whether or not this degree of increase is legally achievable.

Of course then there is the question of whether or not the existing tenant can afford the extra rent and whether or not the current (or believed) rent is within market guidlines.

In your deliberations you will also need to consider the long term sustainability of this particular business and what will replace it if the current tenant closes down or moves on. A town of 10000 has limited scope for new sustainable businesses.

Derek