All Topics / General Property / Another newbie

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of VJMVJM
    @vjm

Hi,

I just read Steve’s second book and have been reading all the posts on the forums. This is all new to me and a bit overwhelming but I am committed to building my family some financial security so its full steam ahead from here. At the moment I’m in the research phase (which includes convincing my husband that this isn’t crazy!).

We have a mortgage and two kids and have clearly missed the boat with regards to CF+ deals on a plate but I’m willing to do the hard yards. I’m really excited about getting started but want to do all the prep work I need to first. Would anyone have any advice on this? I am a total beginner so am guessing we’ll need to talk to an accountant and of course our friendly mortgage broker.

We live in Canberra and don’t want the burden of an ongoing amount of finance in the current environment so after alot of thought we’ve decided we need to work within our comfort zone of rennovating before branching out to rental properties. So I plan to hound the local agents for good fixer uppers that we can renovate quickly and hopefully sell for a profit. My gut feeling is that these type of properties don’t end up in the Saturday realty guide. Hopefully after a few years of this the market will be in a bit better place and we can look at buying some rental properties for passive income.

Well if you’ve read this far you’ve done your good deed for the day! Thanks for letting me do some thinking out loud.

Cheers

Veronica Jean

Profile photo of shaztazshaztaz
    @shaztaz

Hi Veronica,
    I’m new to the forum too, and find it a great place to learn.
    If there is a specific topic you are interested in, you can go to ‘search’ under ‘forum boards’. I find this turns up heaps of info.