All Topics / Help Needed! / Eggs In One Basket

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of RYEDGERYEDGE
    @ryedge

Hello All.

I’m just new to the forums and would really appreciate your feedback on a question that has bothered me for a while.

I have been investing for about four years, I have five IP’s, four of which are located in the same town. These properties are performing well some as high as 13% return.

There are more IP opportunities available but I’m concerned about limiting my investments to only one place. Am I in danger of having all my eggs in one basket, and being struck hard if the town has a downturn, would I be better off taking a lower return elsewhere to spread my risk.

What are your thoughts guys and girls?

Cheers.

Ryan Crawford

Profile photo of DazzlingDazzling
    @dazzling

Ryan,

I’m new myself so everything is IMHO.

I remember reading somewhere (think it was one of Warren Buffett’s texts) where he was quoted as saying the best philosophy is to
    1. Put all your eggs into the best basket and
    2. Watch that basket !!

Even though it ran against the grain of what all the investment guru’s on Wall Street were preaching, he insisted that diversification was definitely not the way to go.

His investment philosophy seemed to go OK.

Cheers,

Dazzling

“Go hard or go home”

Profile photo of byronent_2byronent_2
    Participant
    @byronent_2

Depends on the town, I don’t mind having all my eggs in one basket, I just keep changing the basket.

Byronent
    Adelaide SA

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

Warren Buffet invests in companies that he then controls. You can’t control the town so you have no say in its success. I would diversify!

Robert Bou-Hamdan
    Mortgage Adviser
    http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au

FREE Finance-Related Newsletter – Click Here

Comments made are of a general nature and should not be construed as individual advice.