All Topics / Value Adding / Need some direction

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Jenny1Jenny1
    @jenny1

Hi All

I have found a deceased estate that had $289000 asking price in a good area. It is has not had anything done to it for 50 yrs so in major need of a face lift also stumping (2 stumps)[blink][blink][blink]has to be done. I put in an offer for $270000 which they said would not accept below $280000 for it. House is on a huge block that could either be subdivided giving me 2 blocks or I could put 4 flats onto it at a later date.

Question is should I now offer more $’s even though there is quite a bit of work needed to property initially, knowing the value later on or walk away without getting emotionally involved?

Secondly, I am a complete novice re developing the land. Does anyone know costs involved?

Thank you for your help

Jenny [blink]

Jenny1

Profile photo of byronent_2byronent_2
    Participant
    @byronent_2

how much are the repairs worth?

what is the property truly valued at.

what value would you expect once renovated?

Byronent
    Adelaide SA

Profile photo of Jenny1Jenny1
    @jenny1

how much are the repairs worth?

what is the property truly valued at.

what value would you expect once renovated?

Byronent
    Adelaide SA

Hi Byronent

Roughly would need to spend approx $25-30,000
    Other houses in same street that have been fully done up are reselling $340,000+ but at this stage only wanted to freshen it up, have not had it valued at it’s true worth as yet.

Cheers Jenny[confused2]

Jenny1

Participant
    @byronent_2

Great minds think a like

Byronent
    Adelaide SA

@jenny1

Come on guys I got to get some beauty sleep thought someone would give me direction!

[biggrin]

Jenny1

Profile photo of jonbrenjonbren
    @jonbren

Property development can have a fair amount of hidden costs, the biggest is holding costs while you negotiate through council approvals this can take upwards of 12 months