All Topics / General Property / Wrecked property

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of hazza52hazza52
    @hazza52

To all good people on the forum.
    This is my first time on the forum and I have some questions regarding investing in general.
    I have run my own business in secondhand gas appliances for over 12 years.During the course of this conduct I encountered the bad side of property owning. This because tennants have left hefty repair bills for the owners. (one landlord $10.000)
    This was the main reason for us NOT to go into real estate investing. Now I start to think that I have been to critical as we obviously only got landlords with problems in our shop.
    Can I have any comments on this PLEASE
    Have a happy and especially prospourus 2005 for all of you out there
    Kind Regards
    Hazza52
    (Harry)

Harry Otter

Profile photo of byronent_2byronent_2
    Participant
    @byronent_2

Get good insurance and find a property manager than can screen tenants.

I have had some beauty, but all covered by insurance. The worst was for $5000. They took my doors, light switches carpets, you name it, but it did me a favour, i get a further $20 a week rent after insurance paid for refit.

Byronent
    Adelaide SA

Profile photo of hazza52hazza52
    @hazza52

Thanks Byronent
    That was very incureging
    In the case I talked about they took all appliances, knocked a wall out because they needed a biljard room

Regards

Harry Otter

Participant
    @byronent_2

Insurance insurance insurance.

It is a beautiful and necessary thing.

Don’t be discouraged. The horror stories are few and far between.

I can also tell you have had one tenant for 7 years and his brother next door in my other property for 6. I have offered to sell them both properties but they are happy renting. They do my lawns at no cost and I don’t screw them on rent, but all in all the return is great and they watch over the other 2 units in the block.