All Topics / Help Needed! / First foray into IP’s – what about family???

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of littlechooklittlechook
    @littlechook

Hi all,
    Im pretty new to this whole thing and am presently paying of my co-owned home with my partner. We have some equity and although we will be selling in the coming months I am wanting to begin investing in property on my own. I have a very reliable aunty who will be in need of a place to rent in the coming months and given her excellent rental history, I am considering purchasing a property with her in mind as a tenant. My problem is that Im in Perth, have searched high and low for ‘positive’ properties and am finding nada, zip, zilch. Based on my research of the prices of the areas I have narrowed things down to, all I could do to enter the IP market was to negatively gear, no matter how I work it.

1. Am I setting myself up for disaster by purchasing with my Aunty in mind?
    2. If anyone has any pointers from a Perth locality perspective, I would be so interested to hear your thoughts.

tired of searching with vastly waning enthusiasm,
    littlechook (aka please help!!)

Profile photo of littlechooklittlechook
    @littlechook

sorry to double post but I guess I am asking advice on the age old question here – at what point do you stop forging ahead with gusto to pay off your own home and invest in additional properties? Is there a ratio that is generally applied or is it a case of ‘when the right IP opportunity arises’?

I have read so many books and am so confused….[confused2]

Profile photo of FFCommFFComm
    @ffcomm

Finding CF+ properties is difficult, but they are out there. Perhaps your still looking to close to the CBD/city, you have to move out to less desirable areas (rural/regional as an example).