All Topics / Creative Investing / Re bond requirements for lease options

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 21 total)
  • Profile photo of ProfiteerProfiteer
    @profiteer

Hey people

Just enquiring….When constructing a lease options deal I understand that you enter into an options contract as well as a tenancy lease agreement. Consequently, as part of the lease agreement it is a requirement by the state REI to lodge a bond on behalf of the tenant. So, with this in consideration, when negotiating the deal do you adjust the amount of deposit you ask for to compensate for the bond? I sought of think that asking for a reasonable deposit and bond may make the deal unattractive for the potential tenant/buyer. Any advice?

Kind regards

MagnumPI [eh]

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

I am not experienced with lease options on residential property but I am experienced with options contract. It is normal practice to pay a premium (fee) to purchase the option contract that give rise to buying the item for a set price within a set time some time in the future.

The bond would relate to the lease and the ‘option premium’ would relate to the option. I would guess that the bond would have to be lodged with the bond board and the premium could be whatever amount you like and you should be able to use that any way you see fit.

In response to your concern, if I was to sign your lease option on your property (and I understood what I was signing), I would have no problem paying the ‘premium’ for the option to buy.

I am sure some of the experienced lease option investors will clear all this up for both of us as I intend using this structure myself in the near future.

Robert Bou-Hamdan
    Mortgage Adviser

0414 347 771
    [email protected]
    http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au

FREE Finance-Related Newsletter – Click Here

Comments made are of a general nature and should not be construed as individual advice.
    © 2004 Mortgage Packaging Pty Ltd