All Topics / Help Needed! / Was this a good investment???

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of CrownOfGoldCrownOfGold
    Participant
    @crownofgold

Hi. I’m fairly new to property investment and wanted to know the thoughts of other more experienced investors in terms of this particular case.

I’ve purchased 3 properties in the last 4 years and have recently agreed to accept an offer to sell my first one. I decided to sell for a number of reasons, but mainly as I’m getting married next year and would like to throw the available equity of this property into another one, which will be my PPOR.

These are the figures:
    Purchased in April 2001: $155,000
    FHOG: $14,000
    Stamp duty & fees: $8000
    Furniture & air cons: $9,000
    Body Corp & rates (3.5 yrs): $8,000
    Interest payments (3.5 yrs): $26,000
    Rental (3.5 years): $42,000
    Selling price: $203,000
    Outstanding loan amount: $105,000
    Still need to determine if I need to pay CGT as I lived in the unit for a few months…

How do I calculate whether this was a good investment or not? I’ve tried a number of ways (Income vs Expenses, cash on cash return) but just end up getting myself more confused…

I guess I’d like a few wise opinions as to whether you would consider this a good investment decision….or not. Thanks heaps in advance.

Profile photo of Brenda IrwinBrenda Irwin
    Participant
    @brenda-irwin

Hi C of G, Welcome to the forum.

I am far from an expert in accounting but by my limited experience it appears your rental average is around $230 per week. Based on your purchase price, this would represent a gross return of 7.7%. Based on todays value, it is a gross return of 5.89% which doesn’t even cover the interest rates, let alone Council rates, insurance and maintenance costs.

Buying your own PPOR means the interest payments on the loan are not tax deductable against your income which means you are paying the loan with after tax dollars.