All Topics / Help Needed! / turning negatives into positives

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of nikipnikip
    @nikip

Hi, Im new to this site,but Ive been investing for a few years now. Trouble is, like many, we opted for negative gearing. This has served us well till now but we’re starting to hit the ‘brick wall’ with finance as we now have 7 properties. Has anyone got some suggestions as to how to turn this around? We can renovate but rents arent improving that much to make positive cash flows from just this strategy. We could sell….or what do you suggest?
    Niki

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi Niki,

Thanks for your post!

Congrats on your success to date… 7 properties is a great effort, and hopefully you are now sitting on a large chunk of unrealsied capital gains.

I have a copuple of suggestions for you:

1. Make a plan

It seems to me that there may be an element of an ad hoc approach to your property investing. Has your portfolio grown as a result of a plan, or have you just bought based on an opportunity presenting itself?

In any event, it would be a good idea to make a plan outlining where you want to be in 5 years time and then go back and assess each property against that benchmark.

2. Profitability

A common problem I see with many investors is that they have not identified a minimum annual return on investment and as such just accept the result without a basis for comparison.

In your case, it will be difficult to know which property to sell (if any) if you haven’t tracked actual performance to budget expectations.

You don’t need to do anything difficult… just identify how much (in $) your property needs to make each year for you to be happy.

3. Consider selling

I would definitely consider selling as this does two things:

1. Recycles debt by repaying the current loan and allowing you to reborrow on another deal.