All Topics / Heads Up! / 11 second rule

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of lukebe2lukebe2
    @lukebe2

Hi – I have been investigating my local area of Newcastle NSW and have yet to find a property that obeys the 11 second rule. So of course I keep looking but I was wondering if the 1000 multipler should not be more like 1500 or 2000 for the current year. My reason for this is property prices have increased since time of print.

Example of what I’m trying to say. The place I rent is $280 p.w. By the 11 second rule (280/2)x1000 means the I should pass it up if the sale price is more than $140,000.
    Now the house next door that is exactly the same sold for approx $300,000. Too much if you ask me, as I think they could have negotiated to $250,000. And thats before reading McKnights books.

I’m new to the game but see the property would never even get close to the 11 second rule result of $140,000. Does anyone have any comments to clarify this for me?

Thankyou,
    Luke

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

The idea is not to change the rule to adapt to the market, it is to adapt your buying methods to adapt to the rule. In any case, there is a new 11 second rule but you will need Steve to explain it to you as it can be confusing.

The properties in your example are negatively geared. I find that to come close to positively geared, you have to get away from highly populated areas like Newcastle.

Try out in the sticks maybe 20 minutes or more out of Newcastle etc. Try other States. Try New Zealand. There are loads of options if you go looking. Maybe a spotter might be useful for you.

I wish you all the best.

Robert Bou-Hamdan
    Mortgage Adviser

M: 0414 347 771
    E: [email protected]
    W: http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au

FREE Finance-Related Newsletter: See – http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au/index_files/newsletter.htm

Comments made are of a general nature and should not be construed as individual advice.