All Topics / Finance / Finance Options

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of destined_for_millionsdestined_for_millions
    @destined_for_millions

I’m have a small dilemma…[blink]

I have calculated (by using the loan calculator on this site) the amount that I am allowed to borrow. I know this isn’t exactly correct, but the amount was alarmingly small! (About $45,000 less than I imagined!!!!)

I am 19 and in a sales job that pays based on age and commissions. My next payrise is in September next year.

I earn $340 a week after tax, exclusing commission
    I pay $90.00 a week for a car loan, of which i have $17,000 remaining
    I have been working for nearly 11 months.
    I have no dependents and no other costs at all.

My question to anyone who would know (or like to help) is… if I have at least $7,000 deposit plus the FHOG, can I afford to buy myself a house for myself, borrowing up to $90,000? My girlfriend would be living with me and paying half of the repayments but I am led to believe that her income will not count.

Is there anyone that can help me?

Oh, I live in Naracoorte, South Australia where there are quite a few houses that I believe i can get for under $100,000 and that are in good shape.

Thanks in advance

Profile photo of shawkesshawkes
    @shawkes

Sorry to say this…but if you really want to “own” a property ask yourself if there is some other way of transporting yourself around. $90/week is a lot to pay for a consumer item that loses value day in day out whether you use it or not.

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

I agree with Shawkes.

With 17K of consumer debt at 19 yrs of age you are way behind.

I think you can still buy a property and live in it. Then perhaps set a goal to buy another one a year later etc etc

First one is the hardest, it gets easier every time.

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    http://www.mortgagehunter.com.au
    0425 228 985