All Topics / Help Needed! / Help needed

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • derekpuah
    Participant
    @derekpuah

I am new to investment property. I have around 40K to invest in property. What should my strategy? Should I start with negative geared property or positve geared ? With negative geared it will be easier since I am able to buy around Sydney area but I dont think there is any luck to find any positive geared property in Sydney. If I am to buy positive geared can I buy more than one properties using the cash I have on my hand. Any smart strategy? Please help….

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Buy what you think will make you the most money.

If you have $40,000 deposit, then you can’t buy too many. maybe $400,000 worth of property – if you have the income to qualify for 95% loans.

There are not many cashflow positve properties in sydney, but have seen at least 3 different people buy them this year.

Positive cashflow will help you qualify to service the loans, but you will still need to come up with deposits.If your properties are growing, then there will be no equity to leverage off into more properties.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

derekpuah
    Participant
    @derekpuah

I have been offered a property in Newtown where the vendor willing to offer vendor finance. I only need to put down $20K deposit. I will able ot save heaps in mortgage insurance. However, the repayment is a killer. Do you think I should take up this offer or rather use my cash for the CF properties ?

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack

What are the growth prospects? I dont know Newtown.

Can you afford the repayments?