All Topics / Help Needed! / Commercial Property

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of debtdoggdebtdogg
    @debtdogg

Like many on this forum I am also new to this. At 42 I feel like I am starting late (compared to a few of the 23 year olds who are starting out-good luck to them).

My question relates to anyone who has had experience with Commercial property as an IP. Most of the discussions on this forum are about residential and I have the possibility of buying a commercial property at a reasonable price. My business is one tenant but would need a couple more to make it +ve. It is in a high population growth area but there are a few vacant offices around.

I am really interested to know of any success stories for +ve cashflow on the commercial side.

But don’t hesitate to give me any bad news either!

Thanks in anticipation

m

Profile photo of oziozi
    @ozi

Hi markk,

I’m one of the 23 year olds just starting out. Sorry I can’t help with advice on Commercial property, but I can tell you one thing: it’s never to too late (or early) to start out. As they say… better late than never :)

Good luck!

Ozi

Profile photo of crjcrj
    Participant
    @crj

I had a commercial property in a country town – about 3000 people. Had two tenants in it for about 3 years. One tenant with gov’t funding lost its contract. Six months later the second lost a major contract. The returns were good. I spent the next year doing some renovations and was able to sell the property with a tenant about to move in and occupy the whole property to another investor. I also had an inquiry from someone else at the same time to rent part in a few months when they would have to move out from other premises

The property had pros & cons :

pros – plenty of offstreet parking
    cons – not on main street