All Topics / General Property / Melbourne Apartments

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of simon harrissimon harris
    @simon-harris

Hi
    Most of what I have read suggests that houses make better investments than apartments (mainly because of the capital growth linked to the land content of houses). However, in Melbourne it seems that the prices of apartments have fallen quite significantly (from 5-15% in my estimation) which means that Melbourne apartments seem quite cheap at the moment. Furthermore, the yields on apartments are much higher than the yields on houses. So, despite what I’ve read, I find Melbourne apartments quite appealing (given the yields and lower entry points than houses – ie. you can buy an inner city 1 bedroom apartment for as low as $175k). But I am new to the game – and would appreciate some advice. Any suggestions appreciated.
    Thanks
    Simon

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hello Simon,

Firstly I guess, it depends on what it is you hope to achieve from your investment. If you plan to “buy and hold” then your 175K entry level apartment in Melbourne will be fine, but if you plan to keep it for just a few years (<5) and are more concerned with immediate cashflow you could experience a few headaches. There is an ever increasing over supply of apartment buildings in Melbourne’s CBD and vacancy rates are incredibily high at present as a result.

Furthermore, and this is purely personal perference, I would never buy anything less than a 2 bedder anything (house or unit/apartment) unless it is going to be for yourself to live in, as they don’t generate anywhere near the same income as 2+ bedroom IPs.