All Topics / Value Adding / builders taking to long.

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Profile photo of SeanoSeano
    @seano

gday Peter.
    my first time on this sight. I have a standard MBA contract with a builder and he is dramaticlly over the time to complete our project. Is there any implications like penalty interest.

ps when are you coming to Perth to do a seminare

Sean Chinnery

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi Seano,

Welcome to the forum!!!

Sorry to cut in; [blush2] I know your question was aimed at Peter.

I am assuming if it was written into the contract that any time lapse would incur costs, penalities whatever, then the answer is yes!!!

Cheers,

Jo

Profile photo of ToolsTools
    Participant
    @tools

Hi Seano,

Have you taken in to account any extensions of time that have been or could be claimed by the builder?The builder can claim an extension of time for any variations made to the contract by you,and for anything beyond the builder’s control that holds the project up.

Tools

Profile photo of SeanoSeano
    @seano

Cool thanks Jo and tool. we did have 2 variations, but were told that the builder has to ask for an extension if it was required due to variations. our builder went into volantary administration which slowed things down, they have almost finished our first project after 9 months(the contract was for 140 days!). we have a second development with them. The pad has been done 3 months ago and they havent touched it since. can we get another builder to finish it?

Sean Chinnery

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi Seano,