All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing which way to go?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of trisha007trisha007
    @trisha007

Hi My name is Trisha and I am relatively new to the investing game. I have paid off my house and currently have a negative geared property, which I believe is NOT working for me. I am thinking of selling this and buying two lower priced cashflow rentals, or one holiday rental? Or should I hang on to it?
    Hopefully some seasoned investor can give me some tips and hints and get me on the road to financial freedom![cool4]

I have had mixed responses to this and would like to say that I am inclined to go for a cashflow rather than paying money into a property out of my own pocket, as the rent I am getting does not cover the repayments, plus my initial outlay was high, any more ideas will be welcome!

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi Trish,

IMO you are in an excellent position by owning your house “outright” that in itself is a huge achievement!!!

And to trade the negative geared property for 2 x cashflow properties (which can turn to neg gear in a heartbeat anyway) or in exchange for a “holiday rental” is IMO foolish; UNLESS it (your neg geared IP) is performing REALLY badly. But then, because you have no current debt, any cashflow positive income will be added and taxed along with your wages/salary (assuming you work).

At the end of the day, it depends on how badly the neg geared property is doing (how much out of pocket you are), it’s long term CG potential and how long you have owned it (if < a year, you are looking down the barrel of 100% CGT bill).

My 2c……Keep it, and don’t get scared by the “doom and gloom” and/or “cashflow is king” crap; positive can turn negative before your very eyes!!!!

Cheers,

Jo

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack