All Topics / General Property / RE: The first home buyers grant.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of absolute beginnerabsolute beginner
    Participant
    @absolute-beginner

Is it possible to use the first home buyers grant, to purchase a property for investment (to rent out)?[confused2]

Profile photo of brahmsbrahms
    Participant
    @brahms

no, its the First Home Owners Grant – not the First Investment Property Grant.

Profile photo of MarkyMarkMarkyMark
    @markymark

You can buy the property and then move into it for about 6 months or something and then rent it out. Or you can rent it for up to 12 months after you bought it and then move in for your 6 months. You should always check the accurancy of information you get off a forum, I’d contact the ATO to confirm.

One thing to keep in mind is that even though you cant get the FHOG for an investment property (which I think is pretty fair) you can buy any number of investment properties and still be eligible for the FHOG when you do get around to buying your principal place of residence. As long as you never live in any of your IP’s then you are eligible.

MarkyMark

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

The answers are here:

http://www.mortgagehunter.com.au/first-home-owner-grant.html

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    http://www.mortgagehunter.com.au
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of VaslavVaslav
    @vaslav

you can’t buy IP and then PPOR and claim FHOG. It’s only for your first ever HOME, IP or not.

So you can’t buy heaps of IP, don’t stay in them and then buy a PPOR and stay and claim, u wont get it as you have owned numerous IPs before.

however, u can move in within 12 months to get the FHOG.

There’s no Such thing as No Can’t Do!!!!!