All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Redraw boo-boo …

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  • Profile photo of bennidobennido
    Participant
    @bennido

I have an interest only investment loan with a redraw facility. I got my property manager to plonk the rental payments directly into the loan. I also “parked” some of my extra cash in there to reduce interest and took it out when I needed it for personal use.

My friend recently told me that the ATO regards the “parked” money that I took out to be funds borrowed for personal use ! This is so even though I had no intention of using the extra money to actually pay off the loan !

Looks like my investment is now in a mess as I have been putting extra money in and taking money out for about 6 months.

Not sure what to do now but thought I better tell my storey just in case any newbies like me wasn’t aware.

Profile photo of JuliaJulia
    @julia

bennido,
    Your facts are correct and there is very little you can do to fix it. The worse thing is that you cannot deposit money into the loan to specifically pay off the private portion. You can refinance and split the loan and make the private portion P&I and leave the deductable portion as interest only. It is even a masive job to work out the portions.