All Topics / Help Needed! / getting started with the first IP

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of vado55vado55
    @vado55

Hi,

Im just starting out, and looking to buy my first cf property. The house that i live in is morgage hasd been paid of. Can i use that as equity for my deposit? and how much of it can i use? would that be a wise idea?

Thanks for any help

vadim ozeransky

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Absolutely yes.

I would recommend you draw a 20% deposit from the mortgage on your home and also enough for fees.

Hopefully that mortgage is still in place. If not Iwould suggest a Pro Pack with a major lender and ensure the loans are no xcoll.

After you have the 20% dep then you apply fora new loan on the new property.

The advantages here are that the two loans aren’t linked and also that no funds are needed and no LMI is charged.

The total loan would be tax deductible.

Please ask any questions if this isn’t clear,

All the best!

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    http://www.mortgagehunter.com.au
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of vado55vado55
    @vado55

Simon,
    Thank you for the information. Like i said that we own the proprty (as a family) now that i live in, the mortgage has been paid in full, so we dont owe any money on it. That is good news that i can draw equity from it. The mortgage has been under my dads name and what we are trying to do is to put 3 incomes together and buy an investment property drawing equity from our paid off property. Would that be a good idea?
    what does LMI stand for? and how can you deduct tax from the loan?

Thanks

vadim ozeransky

Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Vadim,