All Topics / Help Needed! / Land or rental property?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of FioranoFiorano
    @fiorano

I am new to property investing but thought I would seek some opinions from those with more expeience than me in my situation.

I purchased a 1200 square block of land with my brother 3 years ago in one of the fastest growing estates in melbourne. Its very well positoned as its a corner block right oposite a passing creek with nature views etc, near shops, schools and transport and only 20 mins from the CBD.

We both took out seperate loans of which mine is now basically paid off and the block has doubled in price. My brother wants to invest in a rental property and has offered me his other half of the block. I am interested in purchasing the other half as I can see potential developent 3-5 years down the track, as well as a possible first home option.

Obvioulsy i can also save money on fees etc from puchasing privately at an agreed price from my brother rather than market value.

My question is would I be better off selling off my half too and investing in a rental property that would give me some rental income and tax deductions etc, or better to buy the rest of the block for future development?

I am leaning towards the block as I already own half and can secure the rest for a good price, while avoiding a higher mortgage in a softening market with potential interest rate rises. My only expenses are about $1000 in rates per year, as opposed to negative gearing and being exposed to much greater risk.

Any opinions and advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of RugbyfanRugbyfan
    @rugbyfan

No brainer for me.

I would purchase the other half of the block and if you were not interested in building a house yourself, look at what the local council reg’s are on subdivision. 1200sqm should be big enough for two properties.

You could build two houses, sell one or both and make a lot of money.