All Topics / Help Needed! / What to do with a -ve geared property …

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  • Profile photo of bennidobennido
    Participant
    @bennido

I am relatively new to the property investing game. I read Steve’s book and it has totally changed my perspective on property investing. You could even say it is starting to change my life with me spending more time looking for +ve CF properties.

However, I already own a -ve geared IP that I bought about 6 months ago. Its an apartment in Sth Yarra (MEL) and it is bleeding me of a few hundred dollars a month.

Given the current sad state of the Melbourne RE market, should I bite the bullet and sell it at a loss ?

Or should I keep it, fork out the extra dough every month and pray for capital gains to cover my losses in the long run ?

Thanks for the help gurus !

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi bennido,

Many may disagree with me, but what the heck!!!

My opinion: HOLD

I know the Melbourne RE market only too well at the moment, I live in it too!! [glum2] But South Yarra is an affluent area and will always be worth a bit, and in better times it will pay off.

Jo

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack

I too would hold.

You should always hold property for a min of 5 years.

If your earning other income and on a hig tax rate the loss is only half.

You have to start somewhere, and I would rather have a unit in Sth Yarra that is costing me a few $100 a month than a house in Moe giving me $1000 a year.

In my opinion in the longer run you are better off buying quality properties like the stuff in Sth Yarra than in regional/rural towns.

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

I would hold.

If you contemplate selling and buying a pos cashflow property you must factor in the selling costs, CGT and the buying costs + the time spent doing this.