All Topics / Help Needed! / Rental accommodation for students

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of mc_2mc_2
    @mc_2

I’m new to real estate investment. Just checking out the marketplace. Is there any particular pitfalls with buying rental accommodation that are catered for students? Any issue with rental payment? Anyone has an idea what the vacancy rate would be for those type of accommodation?
    Thanks.

Profile photo of lifeXlifeX
    @lifex

If the place is already renting to students, should be ok.

remember though if you are setting it up, there are a lot of traps depending on how you do it. Shared houses for instance have a whole booklet of extra rules and insurance can shoot through the roof.

Also students are short term, and may only need 9 months of the year, thats 3 months of vacancy.[toff]

lifexperience

Profile photo of gatsbygatsby
    @gatsby

Hi mc,
    I remember that a few months ago there was an article on this type of investing in the Australian Property Investor magazine that covered all the pros and cons of student accom investing. Check out the back issues. I’m sure it was this year. Good luck.
    Regards,
    Gatsby!

Profile photo of mc_2mc_2
    @mc_2

Thanks for the feedback : )

Profile photo of VincentVincent
    Participant
    @vincent

Hi MC,

As a student renter from overseas before, I have since settled in Perth to work. As far as rent is concern, it’s a matter of when we have the money is when the rent is paid. Sometimes, we need a breather too when our car etc breakdown and need that rainy day money. Basically, we want to have a relatively peaceful time too, without too much fuss from landlords.