All Topics / Help Needed! / Buying in a Down Cycle

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 43 total)
  • Profile photo of Da ManDa Man
    @da-man

I’ve been tracking a particular Sydney beach side suburb for 4 months and keeping a “dossier” of prices in streets am interested in in that suburb. It is a suburb that I have always liked and I plan to buy an IP, build up my equity, then buy a 2nd IP and move into one of them.

I’ve found that some places in this suburb have been on the market for 6-8 weeks and some places are now being advertised between $20,000 and $40,000 less than they were say 2 months ago. I suspect, you could haggle down a fair way more from these prices.

I am looking in the 1-2 bedroom unit market (possibly art deco style).

I am living abroad and am earning good brass. I plan on building a “war chest” so I have a nice big deposit. I should have around A$60,000 in the kitty by December and more into 2005.

I think I’m in a good position in the sense that it apears to be a “buyers market” in Sydney at the moment (at least where I’m looking). I would like to canvass forum members views on the Sydney market. I am planning on buying and holding. But I am always wary of buying in a down cycle. There are bargians to be had I feel with lots of folks over committed – but my concern is that if I buy into the market in say 6 months time and there is a lot more pain – I might be able to pick up more of a bargain in 2005. I am in no rush so time is on my side. Any opinions on “when to time my run”? I have my own views, but would like to hear from others.

Profile photo of Da ManDa Man
    @da-man
    Originally posted by Da Man:

I’ve been tracking a particular Sydney beach side suburb for 4 months and keeping a “dossier” of prices in streets am interested in in that suburb. It is a suburb that I have always liked and I plan to buy an IP, build up my equity, then buy a 2nd IP and move into one of them.