All Topics / Help Needed! / Trying to help someone in dire straits…

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of vicgirlvicgirl
    @vicgirl

Hi everyone, I’m glad I have found your site. I’m new in Victoria (from NZ though not a native Kiwi). I have experience and knowledge I can share with anyone who is interested in investing in NZ property.
    I’m more or less out of the ratrace but I would very much like to help a local friend who is facing a dire situation after a business venture went wrong.
    This person is not young and basically has to start from zero again. If this sort of challenge appeals to you, I would appreciate your input, especially on how depreciation works here….I tried this webpage
    http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.asp?doc=/content/9033.htm&pc=001/002/002/005&mnu=1009&mfp=001/002&st=&cy=0
    but I can’t say I got the picture just yet…

Profile photo of diclemdiclem
    @diclem

Hi Vicgirl,
    There seems to be quite a bit of information on the link that you quoted, however it is a bit of a worry that it is from 2001.
    I’d suggest you do a search on this website, as deprecition has come up fairly often in discussion, and you should find some plain english advice.
    Good luck,
    Sue [biggrin]

“Be careful not to step on the flowers when you’re reaching for the stars”

Profile photo of depreciatordepreciator
    @depreciator

Try this site http://www.depreciator.com.au

Or give me a call and I’ll give you a rundown on depreciation.

Scott – 1300 660033

Profile photo of RotorogRotorog
    @rotorog

Hi Vicgirl, Welcome to our lovely state of Victoria. Have you tried this site? http://www.depreciator.com.au Also Margaret Lomas’ book “Positive Cash Flow Property” pages 42-46 has some info on the subject. Hope that helps.[sunny]

Profile photo of vicgirlvicgirl
    @vicgirl