All Topics / Finance / Help for 1st time buyer

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of NikolaNikola
    @nikola

Hi Everyone, These forums seem great with so much helpful info. If anyone could help me with my problem……
    I want to buy my first ppty soon but the bank has told me I need to increase my income by $500per month to qualify for the loan amount I want. So, I have taken a second job after work which has increased my income by $700per month.
    I’m worried that when I do apply for the loan in about a month they will reject me anyway because I have only been working in this second job for a few months and its a permanant casual position.
    The bank I want the loan with is HSBC, as they seem to lend the most for my income (by the way, I’m a Property Manager – which explains why it so low!).
    Would the bank consider this second position too risky? Or, does anyone know of a different more accepting bank?
    Sorry for the long winded question, but I’m worried I’m working 53hours a week for nothing![confused2]
    Thanks

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Nikola,

Get a broker to run your figures for you. If they have enough lenders on their panel they will immediately letyou know which lender will lend you the most in your situation.

Ask friends and familyfor a referral to a broker to ensure you find one that is capable.

All the best,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    http://www.mortgagehunter.com.au
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of GeronimoGeronimo
    @geronimo

Hi Nikola

And many lenders will take permanent part-time into account.Casual may be a little more difficult.

Have you thought about renting out the property initially, as then you can use the rental income to increase your servicibility?