All Topics / Finance / Beware Banks!

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of maxhugenmaxhugen
    @maxhugen

True Story:

12 years ago I got a loan with NAB. Five years later, a snippet in a newspaper caught my eye, about someone on a “professional package” with NAB who got a 0.5% discount. [remember, this was before such things were widely known about]

I went in to see NAB, asked if I qualified (I was a computer programmer then) and they said “Certainly, Mr Hugen!”. Then I asked them why they hadn’t offered me this before, as I’d been with them for 5 years already. The answer: “Not our policy.”

Believe me, this sort of crap still happens! A couple of months ago, someone told me of a friend who had a loan approved by one of the big 4 at “standard” rates. Luckily, that person mentioned it to a broker, who promptly advised them to go back to the bank and demand a “pro package” – that is, a discount. And of course they got it – they were borrowing $400k!

For heavens sake, don’t trust a bank! Ask a broker even if you still prefer to go direct to the bank. Most brokers will be happy to provide helpful info even when they know they’re not going to get your business. Hopefully you’ll refer them to others anyway!

Max Hugen [email protected]
    Alpha Financial
    Residential & Commercial Loans
    http://www.alphafinancial.com.au
    02 9560 3061

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage
    @mobile-mortgage

Valid points Max,
    And all too often I have seen lenders placing clients with an inappropriate loan product for their particular situation,

Regards
    Steven
    Mortgage Broker

[email protected]
    http://www.mobilemortgagemarket.com.au
    Ph:1800 820 500
    VICTORIA

PLEASE note comments made should NOT be taken as specific taxation, financial, legal or investment advice. Please seek professional, specific advice.

Profile photo of GeronimoGeronimo
    @geronimo

No surprise really.