All Topics / General Property / High Yield Properties

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 44 total)
  • Profile photo of wezwazwezwaz
    Participant
    @wezwaz

Have been reading “Success Stories” by Robert Kiyosaki. I like the idea that he has collated stories by everyday people so we can relate to what they’re doing. It intrigues me though that a lot of the properties usually have astounding yields of 10 – 20% which enabled them to finance positive cashflow deals. I am not an experienced property investor but I have only ever seen the odd yield anywhere near 10%, let alone upwards of 10. I’m interested in feedback from experienced investors to see whether these high yields are available in Australia, e.g. what are the chances of finding more than one in 10,000?

I guess many of you would have read “Success Stories”. Any other thoughts on the high yielders?

Profile photo of 1HotValuer1HotValuer
    Participant
    @1hotvaluer

Plenty of 10% yields out here in OZ problem is, no one wants to share where they are because they don’t want you buying and creating more competition.
    Ok I’ll give you one suburb to start. Mount Isa, QLD.
    Now I’ve done it haven’t I?

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack

In my opinion buying in Mt Isa is like buying a 1998 Ford Falcon. It may be ok now but in 5 yrs time its going to struggle.

Too much risk for me. The return does not compensate me enough to carry that type of risk.

Profile photo of 1Winner1Winner
    Participant
    @1winner

Yack, can I borrow your crystal ball?[biggrin]
    Seriously, you cannot say that.
    It is like saying do not buy shares because they are going to fall sometimes in 5 years.

When care should be take and spread the risk, if you want the yields you must go outside the big cities, buy commercial with a v/high risk or venture in building block of flats with an even more uncertain future.

And what is wrong with a 1998 Ford?[biggrin]

May God prosper you always.[biggrin]
    Marc