All Topics / Opinionated! / I am an agent of Neil Jenman, apparently.

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of martinwmartinw
    @martinw

When the Today Tonight program was aired, I was intrigued by Steve’s claims, as were many others (I am sure Steve’s bank account can attest to that).

I bought Steve’s book and found it contain outdated information and generally it was unrealistic in today’s marketplace. The whole premise of the book is based around positive gearing, but certainly Steve’s 11-second rule was totally out of touch with what was going on and any properties showing this kind or return were either non-existent or extremely chancy.

It was interesting reading the posts around the time of the book’s release because there was a whole host of Newbies looking for advice. For those who placed posts questioning the reliability of Steve’s figures and complained that they were finding it difficult to find such properties, all these self appointed gurus, who are regulars on Steve’s site, got on the attack and spouted all the usual rhetoric about how such properties did exist but no one was going to do it all for them, they had to do the hard yards themselves… and so on.

At the time there was a fair few posts from people who were desperate to find that positively geared property, but some of the places they were looking were just outrageously risky. There were so many amateur property investors out there taking tips from this guy who promised they too could do what he did (and let’s not deny that this was the basic message relayed through Today Tonight: anyone can do it, it’s not that difficult).