All Topics / Opinionated! / Duty of Care… when does it start and end?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of ScreminScremin
    @scremin

In relation to tenants and the areas around your investment properties, what is the duty of care situation that is expected of a landlord.

For example, if someone burgles the house but trips over a hose that your tenant left out, would the scum sucking burglar sue the tenant or the landlord? Who would be liable?

Being a teacher, I am VERY aware of duty of care and the basic ideas when handling children, but I am curious about others experiences with duty of care with tenants.

Is there anyone out there that can enlighten the forum with their story or a story they have heard of?

Cheers
    Steph

Success is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.

Profile photo of AdministratorAdministrator
    Keymaster
    @piadmin

>>Is there anyone out there that can enlighten the forum with their story or a story they have heard of?<<

What is that ??? Thinking of writing a book ?

Anyway, a friend built a super market but the council didn’t want to sign off on the building because the doors were deadlocked and couldn’t be opened from inside.

The Council insisted that a burglar who broke into the shop should be able to open the door from the inside just in case a fire broke out.

Is this first or second class stupid thinking ?

Pisces

Profile photo of ScreminScremin
    @scremin

that’s the sort of stupid arsed stories I’m talking baout Pisces. Really it is for light reading but also to alert those who may not know much about duty of care.

And no I’m not writing a book….

Profile photo of melbearmelbear
    @melbear

Mum worked at a childcare centre, and it was the same story. They couldn’t make it completely secure, in case a burglar couldn’t get out!!

Cheers
    Mel

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack