All Topics / General Property / What would you do?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of jamesRjamesR
    @jamesr

Hi as no doubt you’ve heard many times, I’m new to this and thought I would ask some advise. Heres a scenario close to what i’m in.

Say I have a house in umm Victoria. I have a $60K morgage on the house. I brought it for $85K. Due to Circumstances I have not paid the morgage off as fast as I should have. I’ve just had an agent go through and say its worth about $150K at the moment.

I am now working up in NT. I don’t think I will be going back to victoria. Would it be better to a, sell it and use the money to start my investments. b, keep it and try and rent it out. c, have it re-evaluated and then take out a larger morgage to finance my investments and try and rent it out. (I think the last option isn’t the best, though I can’t remember why).

If you have any other ideas please let me know.

I know in the end its my decision and you guys don’t know all the details but it would be nice to have your opinion as well. If you would like further details I might be able to provide them =)

I do believe prices in the area will continue to rise (until they crash of course).

Thank you for any input

james

Profile photo of FFCommFFComm
    @ffcomm

You haven’t told us what rent your house could achieve. Without this it is hard to say, also do you want CF+ properties, or are you willing to have some Neg geared, but high growth prop.???

Rgds.
    Lucifer_au

Profile photo of melbearmelbear
    @melbear

James, if this house used to be your PPOR, remember that you have a 6 year window before you will pay any CGT if you sell (provided you don’t buy another residence to live in in the meantime of course).