All Topics / General Property / Mining towns

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of waz11waz11
    @waz11

Just wanted to find out if anyone could think of any major reasons for not investing in old mining towns. I have recently found some +CF places in mining towns and have been told that they have high demand for rental properties as the miners rarely buy in these areas as they often move between mining towns and therefore wouldnt have the need to buy in one area.

Any advice or suggestions on the topic would be greatly appreciated.

Waz11[specs]

Profile photo of gava1gava1
    @gava1

g’day waz,

I am a newbie as well and am currently looking in mount isa. I don’t really have an answer to your question but i just wanted to give you some support that someone else out there is also looking in mining towns.

Cheers gav.

Profile photo of Angus_2Angus_2
    Participant
    @angus_2

Hi waz11,

Mining towns can be either good or bad, you must do detailed research into the life expectancy of the mines that sustain these towns some like Broken Hill are reported to have a very short life spans.
    Regards Angus.

Profile photo of FFCommFFComm
    @ffcomm

Very boom and bust… Mines go through big cycles (so when it’s good, it’s good, but when it’s bad, it can be real bad…), and at the moment were on an large upturn, though apart from China the market is quite weak. Don’t make any long term decissions based on the current situation. Also as Angus mentioned see how long the mine life is, as short could mean all your potential/current renters move on…

Rgds.
    Lucifer_au

Profile photo of krazystylerkrazystyler
    @krazystyler