All Topics / General Property / negative gearing

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 25 total)
  • Profile photo of investroninvestron
    @investron

I wish everyone would stop poo pooing negative gearing.
    I have been doing it for 17 years, had 18 i.p’s., sold 10, kept 8, now retired on $60,000 /a.

If you are paying a lot of tax, wouldn’t it be better to pay interest instead, at least you end up with something.

Profile photo of woodsmanwoodsman
    @woodsman

I tend to see the two like different routes to get to the same destination.

James

Profile photo of theloanarrangertheloanarranger
    @theloanarranger

Different strokes for different folks. +CF vs neg geared will always raise an argument. I’ve got both, each aquired for different reasons.

+CF props DO allow you a lot more scope though, i.e. instant income, additional borrowing capacity, etc.

theloanarranger

Profile photo of ShusharShushar
    @shushar
    Originally posted by investron:

I wish everyone would stop poo pooing negative gearing.
    I have been doing it for 17 years, had 18 i.p’s., sold 10, kept 8, now retired on $60,000 /a.

If you are paying a lot of tax, wouldn’t it be better to pay interest instead, at least you end up with something.

Well done for your great acheivement – however for many people the problem with -ve gearing is they don’t have the initial income and borrowing capacity to continue to buy properties.

[glum]

Shushar

“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.” – Walt Disney

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack

Growth from negative gearing properties takes patience. You need the growth from properties to become wealthy.

Noone has any patience on this web site. They all want it now.

Profile photo of richmondrichmond
    Participant
    @richmond

sweeping generalisation yack, my man… not all here are after the easy quick fix… I think it’s a bit harsh to be so disparaging.

cheers
    r