All Topics / General Property / TOO many 4 sale?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of PaulaJSPaulaJS
    @paulajs

Hi All

Another newbie here, this is my first post![smiling] I’ve been reading posts all weekend and am thoroughly addicted, so much great advice. I think I have RSI and my but has spread an inch or so now though[biggrin]

Have a question/s for any/all… How do you tell if an area is a good choice to buy an IP in if there are Alot of properties listed per population? Is this a good sign or are people leaving in droves?
    Some more info so you know what I’m on about… I’m looking to buy an IP in a regional/country town somewhere (probably interstate) and it is harder to get accurate info on alot of smaller towns and the info I do research, I’m not quite sure how to interpret some of it… so if there are alot of listings for a town what would this indicate?
    I know this is probably a bit basic, but I have so much info spinning round in my head right now I feel like I need some clarification. So any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers[smiling]

Profile photo of crjcrj
    Participant
    @crj

Suggest you do some due diligence on the town. Look at employment, industries, are they expanding or decreasing. There are a couple of threads in the last month or so suggesting things to look at.

Who are the owners selling the houses? eg some towns, say mining towns, might have one of the mines owning a lot of housing and deciding to get out of being a landlord. In NSW Housing Dept has been selling a number of older houses in some towns. Or is it investors who bought and couldn’t find tenants. In NSW houses can’t be listed before a contract is prepared. As the contract has a copy of the title it is relatively cheap to get a copy of the transfer to the Vendor online from the Land Titles Office and find out how long they have owned it and how much they paid for it.

crj

Profile photo of Tim_3Tim_3
    @tim_3

Paula,