All Topics / Hotch Potch / Financing a Lease Option

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of dejaWCDdejaWCD
    @dejawcd

Hello,

I’m new to the LO game and am wanting to do one very soon. However I still have some questions regarding the loan to get when purchasing a property for a LO. I am under the impression that with a LO you can finance using BOTH an Interest Only loan and also a P&I loan. Can someone outline the advantages and disadvantages of using either one, and also whether to fix or not to fix is best?I have had conflicting views about financing a LO.
    I know that one of the differences is that with an i-only loan the repayments are less and therefore the cashflow is bigger. But my concern is that if using an i-only loan I wouldn’t be able to access equity from this property to purchase more in the future because I’m only paying off the interest this whole time??? Or am I able to make voluntary principle payments to gain equity for future purchases?

Someone please enlighten me
    [blush2]

dejaWCD

Profile photo of MarcoMarco
    @marco

Hi dejaWCD,

there are a couple of views here. One of the decisions that you need to make is how you want to realize your profit. Do you want all your cash flow now (and not pay off any principal), or do you want to take the balanced approach and take a little less cash flow, pay a little principal off the house and even make a little capital gain? Bearing in mind that if you take all your cash flow now you are not leaving much room for mistakes along the way, i.e. if your tenant moves on how do you deal with the situation? Also, you would be relying on the market to grow for your capital gain.

If you want you cash now, go for the LOC. If you want to take the safe option (IMHO) then go IP and have a little principal in reserve.