All Topics / Hotch Potch / What is the process?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of rakkyrakky
    @rakky

I am new to the concept of wrapps, having not absorbed much about them untill reading Steve’s book. Can you break it down for me please because I don’t understand the general mechanics.

Is it that –

You purchase the property via your own normal channels
    whereby you then have a mortgage to the bank
    -then-
    create a private and legally binding contract between you and your wrapp buyer which is formalised by a solicitor but is completely independant of your own mortgage provider.

Who’s name is the property in for the duration of the wrapp?
    Does your own lender require any involvement in the process?

I am just having trouble grasping reselling a property to someone else that is legally mortgaged to you.

However, of what I do understand, it sounds like an exciting concept.

Profile photo of Paul DobsonPaul Dobson
    Participant
    @pauldobson

Hi Rakky

As far as I can see, you’ve got it right up to and including,
    “Who’s name is the property in for the duration of the wrapp?” – Usually your name stays on the title.

“Does your own lender require any involvement in the process?” – I now know of 2 mortgage organisations who are advertising that their underlying funders and mortgage insurers are fully “in the loop” as far as knowing and approving that the house may be on sold using a wrap strategy.

Also, if you haven’t already, go back to the home page of this site and click on the “wraps” link. You’ll find a lot of good information there.

I hope this helps.

Cheers, Paul

Paul Dobson | Vendor Finance Institute
    http://www.vendorfinanceinstitute.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

An alternative way to finance your home.

Profile photo of MOBMOB
    @mob

Paul,
    You said