All Topics / General Property / Getting Started

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Mika_2Mika_2
    @mika_2

I am in the process of educating myself about property investing. I am looking to purchase my 1st property in the near future. I am seeking the advice of any experienced investors who would care to offer it:

1/ Is this a bad time to buy – should i wait for a fall in the market – Is a fall ‘due’?

2/ In the process of trying to educate myself I have come across many ‘guru’s’ selling their educational programs claiming they hold the ‘secrets’ to successful wealth building. Has anyone had any experience with these (+ve or -ve) ?

3/ In the present climate I cannot see how rental income plus negative gearing will be sufficient to pay off the interest on borrowings. This may be my ignorence but does anyone have a different opinion?

ThankYou

Profile photo of BronBron
    Participant
    @bron

Hi Mika,

I’m just starting out myself, so don’t really have any answers to your questions other than to suggest you read Steve McKnight’s book “0 – 130 Properties in 3.5 Years”. The content of this book is not gimmicky. He certainly doesn’t profess to be a guru, quite the opposite, but gives sound, reasonable, rational advice and information about several approaches for generating income through investing. The book is also written in an easy to understand, reader friendly way!

My only other advice is to stay tuned to this website and you’ll learn heaps!

Good luck!
    Bron

Profile photo of tony atkinson_2tony atkinson_2
    @tony-atkinson_2

i purchased my first ip two yrs ago and although neg geared $50/wk has increased $150k in that time. now looking to sell as i have capital gains loss to offset and then purchase at least four to five ips positvely geared in immediate future.