All Topics / General Property / To Travel or Invest???

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of bigbenbigben
    Participant
    @bigben

Hi All i was just wondering on the weekend if i should maybe stop putting off plans to travel overseas and just do it for a year or so.
    I have been staying put in OZ simply for the fact that i hate the thought of giving away money that i could be investing and making money from!
    I am wondering if any other people have been in this position and have either stayed and put off travel or have gone travelling and if they would have done things differently???
    Just some opinions please as it will be interesting to see other points of view!!

I guess another option would be to travel searching for realestate but that is not my main objective i want to travel for other reasons!!
    Benny.

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack

I never started investing till I was in my early thirties anyway.

I did my degree qualified as an accountant then went to the UK and spent 2-3 yrs working and travelling. Met my wife on the way home. Dont talk to strangers on the Train.

I am not sure if you can quantify life experiences in the number of rental properties.

If I had my time again, I would still go overseas and travel.

Profile photo of judijudi
    @judi

Hi Benny
    Why not do both? Buy a property that’s below your means, get a good property manager and tenant and off you go! It doesn;t take a lot of money to travel depending on where you go and in what style. By the time you get back, you should have some equity built up to buy your next one.
    Judi

Profile photo of bigbenbigben
    Participant
    @bigben

Hi Judi and yack,
    I have made up my mind to go travelling next year anyhow but i was just wondering who else has been in similar circumstance.
    Judi i already have some properties that are doing well so i am confident that they will continue to improve.